SF NAPNAP is committed to advocating for legislation affecting pediatric health. We monitor legislation related to pediatric health including overweight/obesity. We support initiatives to protect and enhance child health. We provide opportunities for continuing education for PNP’s and submit personal testimony on issues affecting child health care and NP practice. We believe that advocating for legislation related to the populations we serve is an essential aspect of the care we provide our patients and family. In doing so, we hope to educate our elected officials about the role of PNP’s and the services we provide.
California recently passed landmark legislation with regards to the regulation of tobacco. Governor Jerry Brown signed five bills into law that will serve to tighten restrictions on the use of tobacco and e-cigarettes. The bills will make California only the second state to raise the tobacco-buying age to 21 and will classify e-cigarettes as tobacco products. The bills will also expand smoking restrictions in the workplace and on school properties.
Senate: 40 members
Assembly: 80 members
Regular Session: Convenes on the 1st Monday in December of each even-numbered year and continues until November 30 of the next even-numbered year.
Effective Date of Laws: January 1 of the year after enactment
Introduction: The bill is introduced by a members of the Senate or Assembly, read for the first time, then assigned to a committee by either the Senate Rules Committee or the Assembly speaker.
Committee: Hearing(s) are held in committee and testimony is taken from proponents and opponents. Generally, the committee will then amend, pass, or fail to pass the bill.
Second Reading: Bills that are passed by committee are read as a 2nd time and sent to the full floor for debate.
Floor debate (in house of origin): The bill is read a 3rd time, debated and voted on. Most bills need a majority to pass. Bills with urgency clauses, appropriation measures, and some tax-related bills need a two-thirds majority. If the bill is passed, it is sent to the second house.
Second House: Procedures for a bill to pass the 2nd house are similar to consideration and passage in the house of origin. Amendments: If the 2nd house passes a bill with amendments, the bill must be passed a 2nd time by the house of origin for concurrence. If the amendments are rejected, a conference committee is formed to iron out the differences between the two houses.
Governor: The Governor must act on (sign or veto) any bill that passes the Legislature within 12 days during the legislative session. However, the Governor has 30 days in which to act at the end of the biennium. Bills not acted upon by the Governor automatically become law. A two-thirds vote of the Legislature is required to override a Governor’s veto.
Writing Your Representative